Skip to main content

Our leaders

Our mission to improve lives starts at the top.

Richard A. Gonzalez

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer

Robert A. Michael

Vice Chairman and President

Laura J. Schumacher

Vice Chairman, External Affairs and Chief Legal Officer

Henry O. Gosebruch

Executive Vice President, Chief Strategy Officer

Scott T. Reents

Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer

Timothy J. Richmond

Executive Vice President, Chief Human Resources Officer

Azita Saleki-Gerhardt, Ph.D.

Executive Vice President, Operations  

Perry C. Siatis

Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary

Jeffrey R. Stewart

Executive Vice President, Chief Commercial Officer

Rae L. Livingston

Chief Equity Officer

Thomas J. Hudson, M.D.

Senior Vice President, R&D, and Chief Scientific Officer

Elaine K. Sorg

Senior Vice President, AbbVie and President, U.S. Commercial Operations

Carrie C. Strom

Senior Vice President, AbbVie, and President, Global Allergan Aesthetics

Brian L. Durkin

Vice President, Corporate Controller 

Our Board of Directors

Our culture of innovation and responsibility starts with our board of directors and extends out to every member of the company. Our board members work closely with AbbVie leaders to maintain our focus of putting patients first.

Richard A. Gonzalez

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer
AbbVie Inc.
North Chicago, Illinois

Robert J. Alpern, M.D.

Ensign Professor of Medicine and Physiology,
Professor of Internal Medicine and Cellular
and Molecular Physiology, and Former Dean
Yale School of Medicine
New Haven, Connecticut

Roxanne S. Austin

Austin Investment Advisors
Newport Coast, California

William H.L. Burnside

Retired Senior Vice President and Director
The Boston Consulting Group
Los Angeles, California

Thomas C. Freyman

Retired Executive Vice President, Finance and Administration
Abbott Laboratories
Abbott Park, Illinois

Brett J. Hart

United Airlines Holdings, Inc.
Chicago, Illinois

Melody B. Meyer

Melody Meyer Energy, LLC
Houston, Texas

Edward J. Rapp

Retired Group President for Resource Industries
Caterpillar Inc.
Peoria, Illinois

Rebecca B. Roberts

Retired President
Chevron Pipe Line Company
Houston, Texas

Glenn F. Tilton

Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
UAL Corporation
Chicago, Illinois

Frederick H. Waddell

Former Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer
Northern Trust Corporation and The Northern Trust Company
Chicago, Illinois

Committee Assignments of the Board of Directors

Audit Committee

Thomas Freyman, chair
William Burnside
Melody Meyer
Edward Rapp
Glenn Tilton
Frederick Waddell

Compensation Committee

Roxanne Austin, chair
Thomas Freyman
Glenn Tilton
Frederick Waddell

Nominations and Governance Committee

Edward Rapp, chair
Robert Alpern
William Burnside
Brett Hart
Rebecca Roberts
Glenn Tilton

Executive Committee

Richard Gonzalez, chair
Roxanne Austin
Thomas Freyman
Brett Hart
Edward Rapp
Glenn Tilton

Public Policy and Sustainability Committee

Brett Hart, chair
Robert Alpern
Melody Meyer
Rebecca Roberts
Glenn Tilton